Each year that we are graced with life, there is the inevitable good days and bad.

But have you ever had one of those years, dear wife, when nothing good seemed to happen and you couldn’t wait for it to end?

It might not be real tragedies you were facing, just the soul-dragging hardships and one-after-the-other disappointments that plague us all.

Our year was 2013. We’ve had worse years, but this one left an impression that has stayed with me.

Mighty Man’s work had dried up. With little income, our needs piled higher than my ever-growing laundry mounds. Even thrift store prices were too steep.

If something broke (and what doesn’t, nowadays) there was no likelihood of its replacement. Home-improvement plans were once again out of our reach.

My truck sat with four rotting tires and no insurance. Hope of activities away from home were nil. 

Even my garden, a tiny spot I’d carved out of my junkyard surroundings, could not make me smile. My tomatoes failed, worms stunted my rosemary, and the flowers I yearned for to brighten my day withered before they bloomed.

That summer, Paper Wasps invaded our life and killed our dog. Their nest locations remained a mystery, but every day thousands flowed back and forth, like an angry river, through our back patio. My son and I were both attacked twice, and Mighty Man seven times.

And before the year was up, a family friend of more than twenty years betray us.

We were parched and weary emotionally, physically, and financially.

 

But as the year finally came to a close, I realized something astounding:

Our Year of Drought

 Our year of drought was a blessing.

Not having what you need pushes you to reevaluate what is truly needed.
Expectations are taken apart and closely examined.

Long held beliefs OF How things SHOULD be give way to God-breathed solutions.

 

I could have easily griped and complained (a thing I did most readily in years past).

I could have subtly blamed my husband for all that went wrong in my day (another thing I did most readily). But that would have allowed the Enemy another victory in my life.

Instead, I chose to trust that God had a reason for what we were going through.

Instead, I accepted my husband’s hand and We banded together as husband and wife against these attacks.

We began viewing these circumstances as areas to conquer our frustrations, expectations, and wantonness.

Satan, like the river of wasps on our porch, tried to attack our faith with repeated disappointments and our patience with constant annoyance.

He tried to unseat our joy with the sting of want. But he failed.

Christ drowned the adversary of our souls with His living water.

 

But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life. John 4:14

 

Our physical hopes were as dry as the desert floor, but because we drew from the well of this Living Water, there was a spiritual cascade of thankfulness, patience, peace, and joy.

As a wife, it is especially difficult when your good days are few and the downright awful days turn into weeks, or even months.

But what’s even more difficult is trying to manage these dry spells without the oneness of your spouse and the drenching of God’s Spirit.

 

What a Year of Drought Can Teach a Thirsty Wife

 

Each year you will face trials.

It may be as simple as dead flowers, or more harrowing as wasp attacks, broken trucks, and betrayals.

But when you hand over every frustration to God (the little pesky ones, and the ones that leave you crying throat-aching tears), grip your husband’s hand tightly and seek God’s will through it all.

And the peace of God that passes all understanding will rain hope and healing upon your dry places.

 

 

 

Be careful for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God.

And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:6-7

 

 

Abiding in the Vine,

~ Gleniece 

 

 

Please consider leaving me a comment. I would love to get to know you.

 

 

Would you also consider signing up for my posts? That would be such an encouragement to me. Thanks!

 

 

I have linked this post to one of these fine Blog Hops.

The post “What a Year of Drought Can Teach a Thirsty Wife” was first published on Desert Rain.

 

 

23 thoughts on “What a Year of Drought Can Teach a Thirsty Wife

  1. Gleniece, what a testimony of faith. I literally just finished reading and pondering on James chapter 1 verses 1-12. I can read in your experience lives lived out in faith and hope in God. What a blessing to hear. Thank you for sharing. I have been greatly encouraged by your perseverance. Sharing this week. I know your story will encourage others:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww…Lisa. Thank you so much. I am only where I am now because of the great faithfulness of God Almighty. And because perseverance is my middle name {wink}.
      So happy you stopped by. 😃

      Like

  2. This is my second summer in Casa Grande, Az. I am really drawn to your blog, partly because you live in Az , but also because of your faith. Do you have an air conditioner? If not, I will pray for one with you. (I cannot imagine living in this heat without one!) Love & prayers, in Jesus, Cynthia

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello, Cynthia! I’m so glad you have enjoyed reading along!
      I have not had many women to share my struggles or triumphs with. Life can be lonely. But God is faithful and true. He knows what we need and when. I am thankful He has given me this blog to reach out to sisters like you.
      No, we don’t have air-conditioning. (But we wouldn’t have the power to run it anyway-we’re strictly off-grid here. But your prayers for a strong breeze would be greatly appreciated. (Today was a doozie. 109° inside!)
      Thanks for visiting. I hope your evening is blessed.

      Like

    1. Thank you, Brenda. You are a friend indeed. I wish I could say that it’s only hot outside though, but my indoors is currently 105°! Yes, you read that right. After living in the desert for over 24 years, I’m used to it by now, but that doesn’t make it easy. (Think lethargy and headaches 😞).
      Thanks so much for stopping by. I hope your day is blessed (and a lot cooler!).

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Gleniece, yes, I have had such a year. The beginning of this year, in fact for about 3 months was one major trial after another. So many things happened, that my husband and I just counted them out. When I backed my car into my son’s car in the driveway on Easter morning, my husband just said, there’s number 10. But, while some of the trials were life and death and very heartbreaking, I have followed my lord long enough to know that He was in control. Through many trials comes strength and assurance for future trials. Thanks for sharing! (And, I wish I could share my air conditioning with you!)

    Like

    1. I’m so sorry you had to go through all of that. I hope things have picked up for you and your family.
      God is indeed faithful and true. He knows all things and His love for us surpasses our understanding. In all the things we struggle with-He is right there with us.
      Thank you for sharing, Kathleen! (And for sending your air-conditioning wishes too).

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I am so sorry to hear about these things that happened to you and your family that year, but your faith is amazing. Thank you for reminding us to shine that faith, even in the midst of pain and hurt. Blessings to you and thank you for sharing with #SocialButterflySunday! Hope to see you link up again this week 🙂

    Like

    1. Hello, Kelly. I appreciate your kind words. Yes, that year was rough, even the current one is trying, but everything is in God’s hands. That I know.
      Have a great evening.
      Thanks for hosting #SocialButterflySunday.

      Like

  5. LONG HELD BELIEFS OF HOW THINGS SHOULD BE GIVE WAY TO GOD-BREATHED SOLUTIONS…Gleniece, this is profoundly impactful, and timely, especially when the trials are relentless in the shaping and molding of our faith. Such great wisdom and encouragement. I needed to be here today friend:) Crystal~

    Like

    1. Oh, thank you, Crystal. I’m so glad my words gave you encouragement. Sometimes we need to see life from someone else’s perspective to get a handle on our own. (I know I do!).
      I love how God has provided us the comforting arms of a friend through this media.
      Have a beautiful day, my friend. {Hugs}

      Like

  6. What a beautiful testimony, Gleniece.
    Praise the Lord for the wisdom that comes through trial.
    Beautifully written, thank you for sharing. ((hug))

    Like

    1. You’re welcome, Brenda. So glad you stopped by today. I’ve been thinking about you lately. I hope all is well.
      I’m thankful that God has given each of us friends to share the burdens of life. 💓

      Like

  7. Hello Gleniece,
    I’m so glad I found your blog. I’m going to follow along to keep up with you because I just love the way you write. I can relate to this post in so many ways. I myself feel like I’m in a bit of a drought but I know the Lord is allowing it so that I may fully rely on Him. Thankfully, I feel like the rain is coming and this drought will soon end.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh Natalie, I’m thrilled that this post resonated with you. And thank you for the complement on my writing! (Believe me, it doesn’t come easy).
      I continually thank God for the ability to connect with my fellow sisters in Christ, like yourself.
      Yes, our droughts can be frustrating and painful, (and last a really long time), but they can also serve an important service of drawing us closer to our God who knows what we need, when we need it.
      Glad to hear the rain is on the horizon for you, dear Natalie. 😆

      Like

  8. Beautiful post Gleniece – wow that puts so much into perspective. Such truth. We have experienced some of this – not physical drought or wasp attacks!!!! but the financial drought you mention and the one thing after another that comes against. But there is God who makes a way. Your words just so hit the spot of what it comes down to. “Long held beliefs of how things should be give way to God breathed solutions” Yes. Beautiful words, beautiful scriptures and great encouragement to me today Gleniece. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad you were encouraged, my friend. Isn’t God wonderful! Not only does He give us life and purpose through the hills and valleys of our temporary sojourning here, but He gives us kindred spirits who understand our pain and ease our hearts.
      Thank you for stopping by here, Tracey. This made my day. 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Glenice what a powerful testimony that God has given you from your drought. He has certainly done that for me and yes some years are worse. I cannot imagine the heat you are living through right now and I’m praying that breeze for you this morning. It’s has definitely been breezy here. My husband has no air at his shop. He builds engines so he’s been loving this breeze. Blessings to you.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Debbie! How sweet of you to pray for me.💜
      Yes, the breeze is a God send. We appreciate the simplest things as a loving gift from God, when we practice thankfulness.
      Thanks again for stopping by. Praying for loving breeze for you too.

      Like

  10. What an encouraging post. The way you shared your heart through your own testimony during a year of challenging trials definitely impacted my heart. And also, I love the name of your blog. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hello, Amanda. Thank you for your thoughtful comment!
      Desert rain is a physical hope we have here, living in this dry, difficult place. (I so look forward to the cooling, joyous rains in summer). That’s what inspired the name.
      Christ, the Living water, is our spiritual hope, while living in this desperate world.
      Thanks for stopping by. I truly appreciate it. 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here:

