Who doesn’t love to bite into a warm, flaky, buttermilk biscuit? But sometimes one, large, buttery biscuit turns into two, maybe three. Right?

Hey, I understand. They’re delicious.

That’s why these mini biscuits are perfect. You can indulge in the real thing—a buttermilk biscuit with rosemary goodness alongside a savory vegetable stew—and still keep your girlish figure.

 

Rosemary Mini Biscuits 

Skillet Buttermilk Mini Biscuits

 



Ingredients:

 

  • 2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 4 t. baking powder
  • 1 t. Kosher* salt
  • 1/4 t. baking soda
  • 1 1/2 t. fresh* rosemary, minced
  • 1 stick unsalted* butter
  • 1 1/4 c. cold buttermilk*

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450˚.

Butter a 12″ cast iron skillet*. This is the best part about this recipe. Because the biscuits are nestled together, they stay moist, pull apart beautifully, and take on a lovely golden brown crunch on the bottom.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

Now, most biscuit recipes tell you to cut the butter using a food processor or a pastry blender.

Since I don’t have a food processor or the electricity to run it (off-grid living has its challenges), and my pastry blender’s metal bars kept bending or outright braking, I started doing something different.

I use the larger holes of a flat cheese grater on frozen butter–and it works even better!

Voila! Grate your frozen butter

Once you grate the butter, gently fluff the butter shreds into the flour mixture with your hands. 

Fluff grated butter into flour mixture

Now if you are blessed to have rosemary growing in your garden, go snip off a small handful. Mince it with whatever knife you have and are most comfortable using. (I use an 8″ chef’s knife).

Mince your rosemary

Then toss this aromatic herb into the bowl, mixing gently with a rubber spatula.

Pour all the cold buttermilk at once into the flour mixture and using the spatula, stir and fold these two together until just mixed. Stop mixing when all the flour has been incorporated. (It will appear wet and sticky).

Wet and dry incorported

 I add a generous dusting of flour on the counter, as well as on top of the sticky mixture in the bowl, then using the spatula, scrape it all onto the counter with a plop.

Most recipes call for kneading and rolling at this point. But I’ve learned I don’t need a rolling pin for this.

(Besides, you couldn’t roll this sticky dough without adding way too much flour. And overworking a biscuit dough makes for a tough biscuit).

I just pat the dough into a 3/4″ tall mound. Then, because these are mini biscuits and I didn’t have a small biscuit cutter, I needed to find something with a sharp enough edge and the right width (approx. 2″ in diameter), and voila– I found a canning funnel works great. (You could use a drinking glass, but since this dough is on the sticky side, they might get stuck).Cutting biscuit rounds with a canning funnel

Next, begin tightly arranging the cut-outs in a 12″ cast-iron skillet, beginning from the outside edges.

Adding biscuit rounds to the skillet

Once you are left with only scrap-like pieces, bring them all together, molding and patting them into a circular shape. (Using a little more flour and a dough scraper* at this point is very helpful.)

Dough brought together with a dough scraper

Finish cutting out the final rounds, (shaping that last bit or two into the skillet where you can).

Ready to bake now

Now you’re ready to bake! You will get about 20 rounds out of this recipe. (If your biscuit cutter is larger than 2″, then maybe 10-12).

Bake for 18-20 minutes in a preheated 450˚ oven. (Lately, I can’t get my oven to go above 425˚, but that’s a subject for another post).

The smell of rosemary and butter will waft throughout your kitchen and bring you to a state of yum.

 

Rosemary Mini Biscuits ~ https://vineblossom.wordpress.com

 

These are a great addition to any soup, like chicken noodle or beef stew. Try them chopped into a salad for lunch or alone as a snack.

I freeze any leftovers, then reheat in a small skillet (did you guess there’s no microwave here?).

 

 



* If you don’t have:

  • Kosher salt, use a scant (not quite full) teaspoon of regular table salt or sea salt.
  • unsalted butter, use salted butter but reduce the salt in the recipe to 1/2 teaspoon.
  • fresh rosemary, use 3/4 teaspoon dried crushed rosemary.
  • buttermilkuse the same amount of whole or 2% milk but add 1 Tablespoon vinegar (white or apple cider) or lemon juice and let set in a measuring cup for five minutes before adding.
  • dough scraper, use the angled edge of a large blade chef’s knife or a metal spatula–anything with a straight hard edge will do.
  • 12″ cast-iron skillet, use a couple of glass pie plates, or you could use a large cookie sheet, but the overall texture and appearance of the biscuits will be different.


 

Bigger isn’t always better. Sometimes we just want a few bites of something delicious and we’re good to go. Give these Rosemary Mini Biscuits a try, and enjoy! 

Let me know how they turn out and if you have any questions. See you next time for another Red Apron Recipe.

 

If you would like more Red Apron Recipes, you’ll find them on my Red Apron Recipes page.

I thank God for the opportunity to share my favorite family recipes with you. 

 

IF YOU LIKED THIS AND WANT TO GET MORE GOOD-FOR-YOU-FOOD RECIPES WHILE MAKING DO WITH WHAT YOU HAVE ON HAND, PLEASE SIGN UP TO FOLLOW MY POSTS BY EMAIL BELOW.

 

I’d love to have you join me in the kitchen!

 

 

 

 Abiding in the Vine,

~ Gleniece 

 

 

 

 

I have linked this post with one of these fine Blog Hops.

The post “Rosemary Mini Biscuits” was first published on Desert Rain.

 

 

 

30 thoughts on “Rosemary Mini Biscuits

  1. Hi Gleniece, these look so yummy! I was intrigued by grating the butter. Never thought of doing that before and will have to give it a try. Bet it would work on toast as well, wouldn’t it? Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Sheila. Necessity is the mother of invention, as they say. Try the grated butter on toast idea. It might be a bit messy, but, hey, they also say, Nothing ventured, nothing gained, right?
      So glad you stopped by and left a comment.
      Have a beautiful day.

      Like

      1. I definitely will try it. We have a hard time keeping butter out because of the heat. Summers here are hot. And our pellet stove heats it up too much in the winter. So the butter is never soft enough to spread! Like you said, worth a try anyway1

        Like

  2. I like your recipe because it uses a cast iron pan. I fell in love with mine after creating a wonderful deep dish pizza with it. And I’ve used the frozen butter cheese grater trick with my biscuits for years. Works like a charm. I would encourage you to try real buttermilk in your recipe and notice the difference. I used to use the vinegar/milk trick all the time but discovered how much better the real thing makes in biscuits. Just buy a carton then portion it out into one or 2 cup containers and pop it in the freezer. Easy and convenient. Thanks for the post. Saving your recipe now.

    Like

    1. Hello, Karen. I just love my cast-iron pans, too. I do use real buttermilk in this recipe, but having an alternative ‘just in case’ is always helpful. I like making 1/2 cup portions and freezing them for quick breads. I agree, keeping the buttermilk like this does save time and keeps it fresher longer.
      So glad you enjoyed this, and I really appreciate your comment. Thank you.

      Like

  3. These look so yummy. Thank you for all the ideas of ways I could sub out the items. I love these tips because it always seems like you need them at the last minute so I am glad you included them. Thank you for sharing with us at Sitting Among Friends on Wednesdays. We look forward to seeing you again next week.

    Like

  4. These look amazing, Gleniece. I’ve pinned this and can’t wait to try them. I’ll have to get some Rosemary when I go to the store next week. Thank you for sharing with Thankful Thursdays.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Lori. I appreciate your thoughtful comment. Glad you stopped by.
      And thank you for hosting Thankful Thursdays. I’m looking forward to linking up again.

      Like

  5. Hi Gleniece!
    These look wonderful and I will definitely be trying them! I just made plain baking powder biscuits last week and these look like a much better choice when I next make a pot of soup! Look forward to following you! Found you as a neighbor on the Linkup for Sharing His Beauty.
    Pam

    Like

    1. Hello, Pam. Thank you so much for the follow! It is wonderful having you here.
      Rosemary is one of my favorite herbs and they really make these biscuits shine.
      Thanks again for stopping by. I hope your day is blessed.

      Like

    1. You’re welcome, Jennifer. Thank you.
      Rosemary is lovely, isn’t it? One of my absolute favorites.
      I’m glad I linked up with #SHINEbloghop. You have a great day, too.

      Like

  6. These biscuits look heavenly! Thank you for sharing this recipe and tutorial with us on the Art of Home-Making Mondays at Strangers & Pilgrims on Earth! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, JES. I’m so glad you liked it and for your kindness in visiting me here.
      I’m always blessed when I visit your beautiful site. Thank you for hosting your link up to bless others with.

      Like

  7. Gleniece, this looks so yummy. I must try them. I hate rolling out dough (kind of intimidated by it), so this looks like a great alternative. Thanks for sharing. 🙂 Love this series. ~ Have a great weekend. xx

    Like

    1. Hi, dear Brenda. So happy you stopped by.
      I’m excited about this series, too.
      Yes, it’s nice not to have to roll out the dough for this recipe. I hope you give it a try. Love to you.:-)

      Like

  8. Hi Gleniece! I LOVE the idea of shredding the cold butter. That is just inspired!
    Nothing like a heavy iron skillet, right? Those are such wonderful pans, and you can use them on the stove or in them.
    I’m sure your house smells amazing as these bake. A little soup, and it’s dinner 🙂
    So nice to meet you!
    Ceil

    Like

    1. Wonderful to meet you, too, Ceil. (Beautiful name, by the way).
      Yes, it’s great when we can discover ways of doing something that fit with our current lifestyle. It’s way better than complaining!
      And yes, I’m so thankful for my cast-iron pans. I use them every day.
      Thank you for stopping by and commenting, Ceil. Have a great day. 🙂

      Like

    1. Good Morning, Sarah. So glad to have you here! Yes. Please give it a try. You have nothing to lose. I’m always excited when I can tweak a recipe to suit my family’s needs.
      Have a beautiful Friday, my friend.

      Like

Share your thoughts here:

