“You’ve been nominated for the Liebster Award”. That’s what I read in the comment section of my blog.

I must admit, I had to Google “Liebster” to find out what this was. I had no idea.

Liebster is a German word meaning “sweetest, nicest, kindest, dearest, beloved, etc.” The Liebster Award is given to promote love, encouragement, and recognition for new blogs. Wow. What an honor!

I want to thank Leola at http://leoladurant.com of mycreatorscreation for nominating me. Thanks, Leola!

She is an accomplished photographer from Canada glorifying God with her words and pictures.

As I discovered, there is no behind-closed-doors voting process that goes on to be nominated. This is a gesture from one blogger to another blogger (who has also been nominated) to acknowledge the good work they see you’ve been doing on your blog.

But it doesn’t end there. You can’t just say thanks, grab your button, and run. You have homework to do!

I chose to follow most of the “Official Rules of the Liebster Award”, which you can read at http://wording.well.com.

The rules are as follows:

  1. Once nominated, make a post thanking and linking the person who nominated you.
  2. Include the Liebster Award sticker in your post.
  3. Nominate 5-10 other bloggers with 200 or less followers. (This is the hard part, because not every blogger has this information visible on their site. I say, do the best you can with this rule. Who needs the added stress?)
  4. Answer the questions of your nominator and then ask 10 of your own for your nominees.
  5. Include 10 random facts about yourself that your readers might not know about you. This is optional.
  6. Notify your nominees via a comment on their blog.

 

Okay. Here goes…

 

The questions asked of me were:

1. Where are you from?

Originally from Southern California, I’ve been living in Northern Arizona for close to twenty-four years.

2. What makes you happy?

I’m happiest when I see the light in my husband’s eyes. I also get positively giddy when he and I talk about home-improvement projects. 🙂

3. What do you do for a living?

Although I don’t earn any money for this, I cook and bake for my family, clean the house, hand wash most of our laundry (yes, you read that right), homeschool my kids, tend an herb and small vegetable garden, and I’m also a pretty hot secretary for my husband (his words).

4. What is your favorite emotion? Or emotional condition?

Self-control. It’s my favorite. I didn’t say I was good at it.

5. What do you do when you feel low?

Curl up in a ball clutching chocolate. Then, because a mom can’t do that for long, I ask God to lift the veil of sadness from me.

6. Favorite cuisine?

I would have to say Italian.

7. Where is your dream place?

A large, intricate English garden.

8. Who is your favorite personality?

I used to have lots of favorites in movies and television, but I’ve since tempered myself concerning this. I focus less on the entertainment aspect of someone and more on the integrity and morality of the individual now. Dr. Ben Carson comes to mind.

9. What are you afraid of?

verytightplaces. {{shudder}}

10. If you could be anyone, who would you be?

Oh. I don’t know. A tall beautiful model, a famous ballerina, a mega-blogger with a massive following.

But then…what do these people have to go through to be who they are? What do they have to give up or miss out on? Who in their lives becomes second, third, or even less important?

I think I’ll stop wishing to be someone else, and continue to work on me. And keep God and family first.

 

Now here are 10 random facts about me you didn’t know.

  1. I love Celtic music. When I listen to this, I feel like I’ve come home.
  2. I enjoy Lindt 90% chocolate bars.
  3. I can’t swim.
  4. I had a bad experience trying to learn how to water-ski at summer camp when I was 14. (See above.)
  5. Fresh cherries are my favorite summer fruit. Nectarines are a close second.
  6. I played the flute in Jr. High. I also sang in the school choir.
  7. I enjoy working on crossword puzzles. (That is, until blogging took over my life.)
  8. I also enjoy cross-stitch, needlepoint, and quilting. (That is, until blogging took over my life. Hmm… I detect a pattern here.)
  9. I’ve been known to add an item to my To-Do list that I already completed, just so I can cross it off.
  10. I need to wear glasses to read and to type this. My kids will often hear me say, “Where did I put my glasses?”
 Where did I put my glasses?
Okay, we’re almost done.

 

 

Here are my nominees:

 

These are all beautiful women living their lives for God’s glory. If you have a few moments, please consider clicking on to these links. You will be blessed.

 

My questions for you lovely ladies are:

1. What is the best thing about blogging for you?

2. What do you find the hardest about blogging?

3. Do you have a garden? If so, what do you grow?

4. Do you have any pets or take care of any animals?

5. What is your favorite chocolate dessert? I know. How can you possibly choose just one, right? (But if you don't like chocolate{?!},then what is your favorite dessert.)

6. What is something that drives you crazy?

7. Where in the world would you love to visit?

8. In the morning, is it coffee, tea, or neither?

9. What is your favorite season and why?

10. What are you afraid of?

11. And now for an extra-credit question: What have you always wished you could do?

 

I’ve had fun compiling these questions for you–I can’t wait to read your responses.

According to the rules, there is no obligation to accept this award. (And it’s certainly not my intention to lay any burden on you.) Being a busy, homeschooling mom, I understand we can only do so much. Just know I like what I’ve seen on your blogs and wanted to let others know about it too.

 

 

 

 

Abiding in the Vine,

~ Gleniece 

 

 

Please consider leaving me a comment. I’d love to get To know you.

 

 

Would you also consider signing up for my posts? That would be such an encouragement to me. Thanks!

Or if you’d prefer, you can follow my blog on Bloglovin’ here.

 

The post “Lovely Liebster” first appeared on Desert Rain.

Button image credit: 3and3quarters.files.wordpress.com

6 thoughts on “Lovely Liebster

  1. I loved getting to know you better! I think we share the same home-improvement reaction. 🙂 And, I too, have contemplated what must be sacrificed to reach great heights. I look forward to many more wonderful writings out of Desert Rain.

    Like

    1. Oh, Bonny. What a sweet start to my day to see your smiling face here. Thank you for visiting and for the complement.
      Writing is not a breeze for me. This is partly due to my pesky perfectionist nature and partly because my family needs me. But even through the struggle, I thank God for every word I can write.
      Love to you, my friend.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. How sweet of you, Gleniece. Thank you so much for your thoughtfulness. (((Hug))) ~ And, being claustrophobic, I share your fear of tight spaces. eek. 🙂 Good to get to know you. ((Sweet blessings to you)) ❤

    Like

  3. You are welcome, Brenda. I’m so glad to have come across your exceptional blog. You are a kindred spirit. I appreciate the way you speak the truth of God.
    Thanks for the hug. I really needed that. 🙂

    Like

Share your thoughts here:

