I used to have a thing for baseboards. You know, that strip of bevelled wood tacked along the bottom edge of the wall.

It signified completion.

It meant that not only had the walls been insulated, drywalled, and painted, but that the floor had been finished too – whether carpet, linoleum, or tile.

My desert cabin sports metal framing studs, dusty exposed insulation (recently covered by cardboard) and even dustier carpet-remnant floors. There is no vacuum and no power to run it anyway.

This “temporary” condition has lasted for seventeen years – and my husband is a carpenter! The old adage “the cobbler’s children have no shoes” certainly applies to us.

But any third-world woman seeing my home would stand in awe.

Where I see rugs saturated with dust; she sees a solid floor.

Where I see unfinished walls; she sees permanence.

Where I am apt to look with disdain at my ragged mis-matched furniture, a mish-mash of various styles and stages of decay; she sees something to sit on, and – wow – a place for books and a vase of flowers and – what’s this? – a radio and a television and, oh, lovely, a treadle sewing machine.

Where I might look upon my surroundings as isolated and see only a dry, desert landscape; she sees freedom and a chance to breathe deeply without fear. A place her children can stretch and grow unimpeded by cramped living quarters, unsafe water, and hostile governments.

She would trade with me in a heartbeat.




 

It all comes down to our perspective, doesn’t it?

 




 

But godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out. And having food and raiment let us therewith be content. I Timothy 6:6-8.

If baseboards encompass my rooms, or my walls get covered or not is irrelevant. It is I who must be encompassed by the Spirit of God.

It is I who must be covered – cloaked with the mantle of righteousness supplied by Christ alone.

 

 

 

 

Abiding in the Vine,

~ Gleniece 

 

 

 

Please consider leaving me a comment. I would love to GET to know you.

 

 

Would you also consider signing up for my posts? That would be such an encouragement for me. Thanks!

 

 

I have linked this post to one of these fine Blog Hops.

The post “She Would Stand in Awe” first appeared on Desert Rain.

 

 

 

Photo credit: Paragon Properties / Dover Hill via photopin (license)

16 thoughts on “She Would Stand in Awe

  1. I love your descriptive writing! How you tied it all together using scripture is beautiful! I am blessed to read this today. I have been having a tough few weeks, and the reminder to focus on being encompassed and cloaked in righteousness was what I needed to read today.

    Thank you for sharing!

    Like

    1. You are so welcome, Kaylene.
      I’m thankful to God we can share each other’s burdens and thereby lift each other up.
      Thank you for visiting me here.

      Like

  2. Sorry it took me so long to get here. I haven’t forgotten about you my friend!! I’m just in the middle of a crazy -cycle that’s spinning me in a million directions right now.

    This is really good. I’m glad you took a leap and started writing. I know you’ll love it.

    Like

  3. Oh, I’m so happy you stopped by! It wouldn’t be the same without you here.
    As for crazy cycles, I hear you. I’ll send up a special prayer to our awesome God for peace and calm and that beautiful settled place we all long for.

    Thanks for the complement on the writing. I don’t have a lot of words in me – my posts will probably always be short – but I hope they always strike a chord of encouragement and understanding to those who read it.

    Love you!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Lisa. We often forget that we are living like kings here compared to how others live. Yet, so many Christians still grumble. (I know, that used to be me!).
      I really appreciate you taking the time to stop by and comment. You have a wonderful day.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Your post reminds me of Paul’s words in Philippians: “I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.” Philippians 4:12 Learning to be content in any situation can be a difficult thing for our human selves, especially when we live in a society that continually pushes us to gain “more”. But, as you wrote, it is all a matter of perspective! What a gift it is to be provided for by a God meets all our needs! To be content is to remember from where our strength comes and to be thankful for all that God has provided. We would have and be nothing without him! Thanks for your words that remind us to count our blessings rather than our wants.

    Love your blog!

    In His grip, Joan

    Like

    1. “We would have and be nothing without Him”. You are so right.
      Thank you for your quote of Phil. 4:12. I am still learning to be content every day. But thanks be to God, He has shown me what truly matters. Not a shiny house, but a humble heart.
      Thank you, Joan, for your thoughtful comment. 🙂

      Like

  5. I too see incomplete aspects of my home. We have been renovating for 13 years and need to start all over. We haven’t finished the first phase of renovation, and we need to paint the walls again. It is perspective. I know my house feels incomplete but to someone with less they would see blessings and God’s love. I am looking at my home with new eyes thanks to your post. 😉

    Like

  6. Thank you, Mary, for your kind words. I came to the point where I realized that things may never change here. And if that is so, how do I live out my life? Frustrated and angry all the time, or thankful to God I am alive, waiting for His Kingdom.
    The latter is so much better!
    Thank you for visiting me today.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Leola.
      So many others have so much less than we do. Yet, they are just as loved by God. It’s not the beauty of our possessions that matter, but the beauty of a contrite heart.
      Thanks for taking the time to stop by.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. How thoughtful of you, Leola! I accept your nomination, but as a busy homeschooling mother, I will need a little time to compile a post for this.
      Thank you. May God bless your endeavors.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are now closed.